
DEFENCE – (A) ELEMENTARY  
 

Defending is difficult 

BUT early steps up the competency ladder 
are easy ones. 

 

Start by learning a few simple “rules” and 
sticking to them. 

As you gain experience you will identify 
situations where the rules should be 
broken, but don’t break any of the rules 

without a reason. 

And importantly: WATCH ALL THE CARDS. 

 

You and Partner are a Team! 

Partner is not an idiot but is unable to read 

your mind. 

Partner is not blind but is unable to see 

your cards. 

Feed partner the correct information and 
study the information partner feeds you. 

IMPORTANT: Never base any decisions on 
the assumption partner has goofed. 

 
 

 

The Opening Lead:  

 

[1] WHICH SUIT? 

 

First select the suit to lead: 

Study the bidding and follow these priorities 

ALWAYS:   lead partner’s bid suit [1] [8] 

OTHERWISE:   a suit nobody bid                 

AVOID:      a suit the opponents bid. 

 
Then, if that doesn’t identify ONE suit: 

Look at your holdings in your selected suits 
and follow these priorities: 

 

Against a notrump contract: 

Your longest suit [2] [3] [5] 

(if 2 or 3 suits are equal-longest: see next) 
 

Otherwise: 

1st: honours in sequence [4] [6] 

Next:  honour(s) not in sequence 

   or:  a suit with small cards only 

Last: a suit with Ace but not King  
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[2] WHICH CARD? 

 

Then select which card to lead 

Honour sequence:          top card [2] [4] 

Honour(s) no sequence:  4th card [3] [5] 

Small cards only:  top card  

Any 2-card holding: top card [1] 

 
 

ALSO: WITH A TRUMP SUIT 

[a] NEVER  LEAD  A  SMALL  CARD  

IN  A  SUIT YOU  HOLD  THE  ACE  IN 

and assume partner never does either 

This is IMPORTANT 

“Underleading an ace” often gives declarer 

a cheap trick and/or you lose your ace. 

 

[b] A short suit: a suit with just one 
card in it is a good lead; you may be able to 
trump declarer’s good card(s) later [7] 

 
[c] The trump suit:  is a good lead 

more often than most people think. 

 
 

Subsequent Leads: 

Keep on doing what you or partner 

started trying to do. 

Keep leading the same suit your side led 
unless there is a good reason not to. [7] 

If you win a trick declarer has led, never 
immediately lead another winner in the 

same suit (that’s what declarer wants)  [2] 

Generally it is Ok to lead a suit declarer can 
trump, but NOT if dummy can trump [1] [6] 

 
 

Playing to Partners Lead: 

THIRD HAND HIGH is a good rule. [5]  

but IMPORTANT - With a sequence of 

“equal-highest” cards play the lowest of 
that sequence [3] 

Note this is opposite to what you lead  
because it helps partner “see” your cards 

 
 
Playing to declarer’s side’s lead: 

SECOND HAND LOW is a very good rule. 
Exceptions are rare (other than glaringly 

obvious ones!) [3]                      NKW August 2023 


